Forgiveness

Forgiveness. What do you feel when you hear that word? Bitter because you seem to do always do all of the forgiving? That you’re always the one to say sorry and let it go. While others just walk all over you taking advantage of you because they know you will just “forgive them anyway.” Angry because why should you even forgive them at all? They did something terrible to you. They don’t deserve it. You never did anything wrong but so and so did. They deserve the hatred or anger you feel towards them. Whatever excuses or reasons  you may have, no matter how justified, not to forgive, I can guarantee that they are nothing compared to the reasons Jesus had not to forgive.

Why?

Why forgive? Surely God understands what happened to you and how much it hurt. He does. He does you might say. Well, then He must agree with me right? That is where you are wrong. Every time I think of forgiveness the most prominent things I think and feel are love and Jesus. More specifically what happened as Jesus was nailed to the cross.

34 Then said Jesus, Father, forgive them; for they know not what they do. And they parted his raiment, and cast lots.  Luke 23:34 KJV

Think of this, here Jesus is, the Prince of peace, the Almighty God, suffering in pain, a pain we so rightfully deserved. Although this may stray a little I want to point it out. If you are a non-believer or one full of questions like myself you may say, so what? Tons of people have died horrible deaths and tons more probably will. Number 1. Like I said here is the  Creator of the Universe suffering the pain of our sins for us. That should need no further explaining. Number 2. Jesus took the pain of our sins. Not just the worldly pain of being beaten, and whipped among other terrible things. He took  the pain of our sins.

Who his own self bare our sins in his own body on the tree, that we, being dead to sins, should live unto righteousness: by whose stripes ye were healed. 1 Peter 2:24 KJV

Do you know the pain or guilt you feel when you do something wrong? That heaviness and sorrow? Now think about all of the many of believers that describe that light, joy, and peace that fills them when they accept the love of the Holy Spirit? When they accept Jesus? That is because they have accepted His unbelievable gift of forgiveness. They accept Him and His light. His peace. His joy. His love. Him. Then he accepts all of your pain and your sorrow and your brokenness and takes the punishment of your sins. He takes it all. He took it all on the cross. Now imagine all of the sin and all of the pain. That’s a lot. I am absolutely certain I could not bare my own sins let alone everyone else’s.

Then said Jesus, Father, forgive them; for they know not what they do. And they parted his raiment, and cast lots. Luke 23:34

Yet, as he was feeling all this pain and this sorrow, He was still thinking of us, of you, and me. Even the very people that were there pounding the nails through His bleeding flesh. The people that were there scorning Him and calling Him horrid names. In the midst of all of this He asked God to forgive them. That in itself showing that He already had.

Helovesus

He did all this, went through all of that, because He loves us and wants to be with us. Want is not to be confused with need. God is not dependent upon us but that is a whole other matter all together. 🙂

Just a side note, you may be thinking why didn’t he just devise another way? He is God so why suffer at all? Why not just forgive us without all the drama and pain? Well there is this cool guy I found on YouTube (videos of his sermons and such). His name is Michael Ramsden and he said that this is the only way that God could execute both justice and mercy. God is both a merciful and just God.

Here Jesus is suffering all of this. For us. A people that scorn Him, hate Him, deny Him, sin against him. I’ll end there with the long lists of wrongs we as the human race have committed against God. I don’t want to get carried away again. 😉

I hope you now better understand what I meant at the beginning. Jesus, out of everyone, deserved to be angry, deserved to be mad, and hold hatred in His heart but he wasn’t. Sure He was angry and upset at times. Emotions aren’t bad. Forgiveness doesn’t mean you can’t be mad or sad or whatever else but you need to work through what you are feeling towards forgiveness.

So, when I think of that I remember that no matter what happens, no matter how bad it was, or how much it hurt, Jesus forgave and I am certain we hurt Him. So how could I not forgive? How could we not? That, my friends, is a love of which we are totally undeserving.

 

 

 

I always ask God to let the words I type be His. So I was praying, asking Him to inspire me with what to write and to let the words be His etc. When I began typing it started out completely different to what it now is. I have been editing it today when I remembered this Friday is Good Friday. When I wrote this I had not at all remembered that and yet here I am with an article about Jesus’s Crucifixion right before its anniversary. It’s funny sometimes how God works. He really did influence my writing. 🙂

Although it is Monday I am still going to post it today. This Friday and the days leading up to it remember what our Beloved Messiah went through for us all.

3 thoughts on “Forgiveness

Leave a Reply

